Internals

About Residential Computing

Hello.

What We Do

Residential Computing supports broadband, reliable network connections throughout the residence halls and campus apartments, including wireless connectivity in dining facilities and many other common spaces. Our staff, primarily made up of Berkeley students, provide knowledgeable, friendly, and responsive technical support to our residential clients for their network connections, computing needs, and cable TV service.

Our customers include undergraduate and graduate students, family housing residents, live-in faculty, and conference guests. Our primary goal is to ensure that our clients can fully utilize network resources for their academic and personal needs through our provision of in-room Internet and wireless access, as well as technology resources in each unit's Academic Services Center (ASC). We are continually available to residents through timely phone, email, and in-person support to help resolve any technical issues that may arise.

We ensure that all computers connected to the network meet campus minimum security standards, and we continually work to educate all residents about bandwidth policy, the importance of using legal services to obtain digital media, and about smart and safe use of technical resources.

Teams

Residential Computing includes a large group of front-line customer support staff (Residential Computing Consultants) as well as teams of senior staff, who are responsible for developing and maintaining systems and applications, providing technology resources to residents, marketing and outreach, and for management and oversight of ResComp's programs and services.

Directory

Administration and Management

Anne Marie Richard Associate Director anne_richard@berkeley.edu
Anna Blankinship Student Leadership & Recruitment Coordinator anna@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Keenan Parmelee Technical Services Manager keenanp@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Kim McPhee Operations Support Coordinator kmcphee@berkeley.edu
Hayley Bower Student Services Outreach Manager hbower@berkeley.edu
Kristen Lee Student Staffing Assistant kristenlee@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Desktop Administration

Henry Chen Lead Desktop Administrator hchen@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Omer Azam Desktop Administrator omerazam@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Steven Chau Desktop Administrator stevenchau@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Donny Reynolds Desktop Administrator donny@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Desktop Consultants

Aaron Feldman Lead Desktop Consultant aaronfeldman@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Sam Oh Desktop Consultant samoh@berkeley.edu
Raymond Chen Desktop Consultant rchen@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Patrick Hong Desktop Consultant pqhong@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Nanavati Low Desktop Consultant nlow@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Vincent Luong Desktop Consultant vincentluong@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Isaac Yi Desktop Consultant isaacyi@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Tam Tran Service Desk Specialist tktamtran@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Desktop Engineering

Sam Fishman Lead Desktop Engineering Consultant samfishman@berkeley.edu
Sebastian Birthelmer Desktop Engineering Consultant sbirthelmer@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Information Security

Paulina Ramos Lead Information Security Engineer paulinaramos@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Maximilian Burkhardt Information Security Analyst maxb@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jack Chou Information Security Engineer jchou@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Nick Wold Information Security Engineer nwold@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Sam Zhu Information Security Engineer sjzhu@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Peter Li Information Security Consultant peterli@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Marketing

Mary Nguyen Lead Marketing marynguyen@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Kristen Lee Lead Marketing kristenlee@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Carina Boo Web Designer carinaboo@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Allison Yee Web Designer alcyee@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jackie Lee Publications Designer jackielee@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Anna Nguyen Publications Designer anguyen@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Network Access Control (NAC)

Hao Bryan Cheng Lead Unix Programmer for NAC bcheng@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Grantland Hall Unix Programmer for NAC grantlandhall@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Darren Tsung Unix Programmer for NAC darrentsung@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Network Engineering

Gang Hoon Kim Lead Network Engineering Assistant ganghoonkim@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Samuel Son Senior Network Engineering Assistant sson@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Brian Choi Network Engineering Assistant bchoi@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Crystal Li Network Engineering Assistant crystalli@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Operations Support

Vincent Canlas Operations Support Lead vincentcanlas@berkeley.edu
Julie No Operations Assistant julieno@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Shane Stead Operations Assistant shanestead@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Shyla Walson Operations Assistant sjwalson@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Christina Yu Operations Assistant christinayu@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Programming

Brendan Speth Lead Programmer bspeth@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Kenny Do Programmer kedo@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Sidharth Goel Programmer sidharthgoel@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Atsunori Kakitani Programmer akakitani@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Yuta Labur Programmer ylabur@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jake Teton-Landis Programmer just.jake@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Vincent Tian Programmer vincenttian@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Technical Trainers

Jennifer Tu Lead Technical Trainer jennifer_wytu@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Terence Chu Technical Trainer terencechu@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Allen Fang Technical Trainer allenfang@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jennifer Gaxiola Technical Trainer jengaxiola@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jessica Ortiz Technical Trainer jazucena@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Andrew Wun Technical Trainer andrewwun@yahoo.com

Quality Assurance

Kevin Lee QA Engineer kmlee@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Nolan Lum QA Engineer nolanlum@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Brian Yin QA Engineer brianyin@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Unit 1

Pedro Aguilar RCC paguilar@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jeffrey Deng RCC jeffreydeng@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Michael Lannin RCC mlannin@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Austin Lien RCC liena@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Michael Lee RCC mlee@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Unit 2

Aaron Jameson RCC aaronjames@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Patrick Trillo RCC ptrillo@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Nick Freeman RCC nickfreeman@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Daniel Chung RCC danielchung@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Michelle Yang RCC myang@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Martinez Commons

Aaron Jameson RCC aaronjames@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Patrick Trillo RCC ptrillo@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Nick Freeman RCC nickfreeman@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Daniel Chung RCC danielchung@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Michelle Yang RCC myang@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Foothill, Bowles, & Stern

Bon Jin Koo RCC bonjinkoo@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jon Ebueng RCC jon@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Mina Li RCC limina@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jason Won RCC jjwon@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Clark Kerr Campus

Kevin Pamplona RCC kpam@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Chris Moran RCC chrism1@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Alex Voet RCC advoet@rescomp.berkeley.edu

University Village Albany

Rodson Clavel RCC rodsonclavel@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Kevin Dichoso RCC kevindichoso@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Michelle Lim RCC michelle@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Stephen Sun RCC stephensun@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Terry Tsai RCC terrytsai@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Tarika Soni RCC tarikasoni@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jason Kim RCC jasonkim@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Unit Supervisors

Anne Liu Lead Unit Supervisor anneliu@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Christine Loh Unit 1 Supervisor chloh@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Amy Fei Unit 2 Supervisor afei@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Andrew Deng Unit 3 Supervisor andrewdeng@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Nicole Fronda Unit 4 Supervisor nfronda@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Zachary Schneider CKC Unit Supervisor zschneider@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Veronica Wong UVA Unit Supervisor veronicawong@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Unix Systems Administration

Albert Ou Lead Unix Systems Administrator aou@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Grayson Chao Unix Systems Administrator gchao@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Nick Herson Unix Systems Administrator nherson@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Michael Ho Unix Systems Administrator michaelho@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Joshua Moller-Mara Unix Systems Administrator joshm@rescomp.berkeley.edu
George Pearman Unix Systems Administrator gpearman@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jessica Yu Unix Systems Administrator jessicayu@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Windows Systems Administration

Richard Chao Lead Windows Systems Administrator rchao@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Abhi Desai Windows System Administrator abhidesai@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Tammy Huie Windows System Administrator tammy@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Teresa Jiang Windows System Administrator teresa@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Rahil Mehta Windows System Administrator rahilmehta@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Imran Yousuf Windows System Administrator imranyousuf@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Student Jobs

Thank you for your interest in working for Residential Computing! ResComp is part of the larger Student Affairs Information Technologies (SAIT) department, and across the organization we have between 90 and 100 student staff working in a variety of technical and non-technical roles.

Our student job opportunities include front-line customer service for students and staff, software development, web development, administrative support, server and systems administration, technical training, and marketing and design. Positions range from entry-level to supervisory to technical. While training is provided for all positions, we look for highly motivated candidates with some relevant experience who can learn and apply skills quickly.

At ResComp and SAIT, students hold positions with high levels of responsibility and perform mission-critical functions. There are many opportunities to advance within the organization and to work in leadership roles.

While our work environment is professional and prepares our staff for serious, real world jobs after graduation, our student staff enjoy a relaxed, social, and supportive workplace. They earn competitive pay and can set their own hours to accommodate class schedules. And, there is often food, snacks, and candy.

For questions about ResComp and SAIT hiring, email hiring@rescomp.berkeley.edu.

Contact Us

For technical support and computer help, please log in to Helpdesk or visit our Support page.

For any other issues, please contact us at the following email addresses:

  • ResComp General Mailbox

    For general inquiries or complaints regarding the Office of Residential Computing, its employees, network, and services.

  • Webmaster

    If you have any questions about the website or have found a problem, please notify us at this address.

  • Human Resources

    For questions or inquiries regarding hiring issues.

  • Abuse Complaints

    For complaints regarding abuse of the rescomp.berkeley.edu network.

  • Security

    For questions regarding security concerns and policy enforcement.