Internals

About Residential Computing

Hello.

What We Do

Residential Computing supports broadband, reliable network connections throughout the residence halls and campus apartments, including wireless connectivity in dining facilities and many other common spaces. Our staff, primarily made up of Berkeley students, provide knowledgeable, friendly, and responsive technical support to our residential clients for their network connections, computing needs, and cable TV service.

Our customers include undergraduate and graduate students, family housing residents, live-in faculty, and conference guests. Our primary goal is to ensure that our clients can fully utilize network resources for their academic and personal needs through our provision of in-room Internet and wireless access, as well as technology resources in each unit's Academic Services Center (ASC). We are continually available to residents through timely phone, email, and in-person support to help resolve any technical issues that may arise.

We ensure that all computers connected to the network meet campus minimum security standards, and we continually work to educate all residents about the importance of using legal services to obtain digital media and about smart and safe use of technical resources.

Teams

Residential Computing includes a large group of front-line customer support staff (Residential Computing Consultants) as well as teams of senior staff, who are responsible for developing and maintaining systems and applications, providing technology resources to residents, marketing and outreach, and for management and oversight of ResComp's programs and services.

Directory

Administration and Management

Anne Marie Richard Associate Director anne_richard@berkeley.edu
Anna Blankinship Student Leadership & Recruitment Coordinator anna@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Keenan Parmelee Technical Services Manager keenanp@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Kim McPhee Operations Support Coordinator kmcphee@berkeley.edu
Hayley Bower Student Services Outreach Manager hbower@berkeley.edu
Ashley Song Student Staffing Coordinator ashleysong@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Desktop Administration

Steven Chau Lead Desktop Administrator stevenchau@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Henry Rowswell Desktop Administrator henryrowswell@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Omer Azam Desktop Administrator omerazam@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Thomas Kim Desktop Administrator taeminkim@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Desktop Consultants

Mia Shin Lead Desktop Consultant miashin@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Alice Cai Desktop Consultant acai@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Derrick Hu Desktop Consultant dhu@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Elena Zhang Desktop Consultant elenafz@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Isaac Yi Desktop Consultant isaacyi@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Matthew Leong Desktop Consultant mleong@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Nanavati Low Desktop Consultant nlow@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Noah Kang Desktop Consultant nkang@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Patrick Hong Desktop Consultant pqhong@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jonathan Tau Desktop Consultant jonathantau@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Desktop Engineering

Sebastian Birthelmer Lead Desktop Engineering Consultant sbirthelmer@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Luke Levis Desktop Engineering Consultant lukelevis@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Information Security

Nick Wold Lead Information Security Engineer nwold@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Bon Jin Koo Information Security Analyst bonjinkoo@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Arlan Jaska Information Security Engineer ajaska@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Skyler Rojas Information Security Engineer srojas@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jack Chou Information Security Engineer jchou@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Mina Li Information Security Consultant limina@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Marketing

Kristen Lee Lead Marketing Coordinator kristenlee@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Allison Yee Web Designer alcyee@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Anna Nguyen Publications Designer anguyen@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Network Engineering

Gang Hoon Kim Lead Network Engineering Assistant ganghoonkim@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Samuel Son Senior Network Engineering Assistant sson@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Joseph Corvino Network Engineering Assistant jcorvino@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Roy Kim Network Engineering Assistant kroy1205@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Daniel Li Network Engineering Assistant danielmxli@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Hsiang Cheng Network Engineering Assistant hcheng@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Unzi Park Network Engineering Assistant upark@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Operations Support

Julie No Operations Support Lead julieno@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Anna Liu Operations Assistant aliu@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Edward Bueno Operations Assistant ebbueno@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Hanqing Chen Operations Assistant hchen93@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Josh Jang Operations Assistant joshjang@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Programming

Zachary Schneider Lead Programmer zschneider@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jake Teton-Landis Senior Programmer jitl@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Albert Hu Programmer alberthu@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Atsunori Kakitani Programmer akakitani@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Grantland Hall Unix Programmer for Network Access Control grantlandhall@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Sidharth Goel Programmer sidharthgoel@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Yuta Labur Programmer ylabur@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Technical Trainers

Yannie Yip Lead Technical Trainer yannieyip@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Allen Fang Technical Trainer allenfang@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Ekaxi Hernandez Technical Trainer ehernandez@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Genesy Hernandez Technical Trainer ghernandez@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jennifer Gaxiola Technical Trainer jengaxiola@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jessica Ortiz Technical Trainer jazucena@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Scott Wun Technical Trainer swun@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Quality Assurance

Brian Yin QA Engineer brianyin@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Kevin Lee QA Engineer kmlee@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jackson Chang QA Engineer jacksonchang@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Nolan Lum QA Engineer nolanlum@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Sunjay Koshy QA Engineer koshy1@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Unit 1

Daniel Chung RCC danielchung@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jesse Luo RCC jluo@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Josephine Kao RCC josephinekao@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Joshua Scherschel RCC jscherschel@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Michael Lee RCC mlee@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Martinez Commons

Alana Tran RCC atran@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Harry Li RCC @rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jason Won RCC jjwon@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jeremy Wan RCC jeremyjwan@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Mason Holt RCC mason@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Matthew Deng RCC matthewdeng@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Foothill, Bowles, & Stern

Austin Lien RCC liena@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Brian Tseng RCC briantseng@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Gurpreet Heer RCC gopheer@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Michael Signorotti RCC msignorotti@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Clark Kerr Campus

John Lee RCC junglee@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Kirushanth Ravindran RCC kiru@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jim Hsiao RCC jimhsiao@rescomp.berkeley.edu

University Village Albany

Calvin Lui RCC clui@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Colbert Guan RCC colbyguan@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Cyrus-Jan Batino RCC batino@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Peter Lee RCC plee@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Mingxi Zheng RCC mingxi@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Terry Tsai RCC terrytsai@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Tricia Fu RCC triciasfu@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Unit Supervisors

Tarika Soni Lead Unit Supervisor tarikasoni@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Hyunjae Kim CKC Supervisor hyunjaekim@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jason Kim Unit 2 + MC Supervisor jasonkim@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Jonathan Ebueng Unit 4 Supervisor jon@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Michelle Yang Unit 1 Supervisor myang@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Sheila Wagner Unit 3 Supervisor swagner@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Stephen Sun UVA Unit Supervisor stephensun@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Unix Systems Administration

George Pearman Lead Unix Systems Administrator gpearman@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Grayson Chao Unix Systems Administrator gchao@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Han Wang Unix Systems Administrator hanwang@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Kevin Lin Unix Systems Administrator kklin@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Michael Ho Unix Systems Administrator michaelho@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Nicholas Sun Unix Systems Administrator nlsun@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Nick Herson Unix Systems Administrator nherson@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Windows Systems Administration

Richard Chao Lead Windows Systems Administrator rchao@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Tammy Huie Windows System Administrator tammy@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Teresa Jiang Windows System Administrator teresa@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Ann Tang Windows System Administrator anntang@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Imran Yousuf Windows System Administrator imranyousuf@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Assistant Office Coordinator

Geraldine Burrola Assistant Office Coordinator gburrola@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Emmanuella Hristova Assistant Office Coordinator ehristova@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Winnie Itago Assistant Office Coordinator itagokangashi@rescomp.berkeley.edu
Brandon Vu Assistant Office Coordinator brandonvu@rescomp.berkeley.edu

Student Jobs

Thank you for your interest in working for Residential Computing! ResComp is part of the larger Student Affairs Information Technologies (SAIT) department, and across the organization we have between 90 and 100 student staff working in a variety of technical and non-technical roles.

Our student job opportunities include front-line customer service for students and staff, software development, web development, administrative support, server and systems administration, technical training, and marketing and design. Positions range from entry-level to supervisory to technical. While training is provided for all positions, we look for highly motivated candidates with some relevant experience who can learn and apply skills quickly.

At ResComp and SAIT, students hold positions with high levels of responsibility and perform mission-critical functions. There are many opportunities to advance within the organization and to work in leadership roles.

While our work environment is professional and prepares our staff for serious, real world jobs after graduation, our student staff enjoy a relaxed, social, and supportive workplace. They earn competitive pay and can set their own hours to accommodate class schedules. And, there is often food, snacks, and candy.

For questions about ResComp and SAIT hiring, email hiring@rescomp.berkeley.edu.

Contact Us

For technical support and computer help, please log in to Helpdesk or visit our Support page.

For any other issues, please contact us at the following email addresses:

  • ResComp General Mailbox

    For general inquiries or complaints regarding the Office of Residential Computing, its employees, network, and services.

  • Webmaster

    If you have any questions about the website or have found a problem, please notify us at this address.

  • Human Resources

    For questions or inquiries regarding hiring issues.

  • Abuse Complaints

    For complaints regarding abuse of the rescomp.berkeley.edu network.

  • Security

    For questions regarding security concerns and policy enforcement.